Tuesday, April 13, 2010

The Writers Guild of Alberta Announces The 2010 Alberta Literary Awards Shortlist

The Writers Guild of Alberta is thrilled to announce the finalists for the 2010 Alberta Literary Awards! The Alberta Literary Awards recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors.

Awards jurors have deliberated 183 submissions to select 32 finalists in nine categories. Finalists represent extraordinary literary work written by Alberta authors and published in 2009.

Winners will be announced and awards presented at the Alberta Book Awards Gala on Friday May 14, 2010 at the Delta South Hotel (4404 Gateway Boulevard) in conjunction with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta’s (BPAA) Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the presentation of the inaugural Alberta Readers’ Choice Award, a $10,000 prize!

See who this year’s shortlisted authors are.

The Writers Guild of Alberta is a provincial arts service organization that represents both professional and emerging writers in Alberta. Their mission is to support, encourage and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and to read, and to advocate for the well-being of writers.

Registration for the Awards Gala is $55/person. For more information or to register, please call 1-800-665-5354 or visit www.writersguild.ab.ca